Well, my mom was running errands one day, and I ended up at PetSense for my cat, Stormy’s special food; he gets bladder infections if he doesn’t eat a special kind of cat food, which costs tons of money. I wouldn’t be surprised if we spend more money on Stormy’s food than our food. Anyway, I got kind of board, so I ventured to the back of the store where the cats who were up for adoption were. They practically begged me to pet them, if they could speak proper english, they would have said,”Please pet us, we are very lonely, and if you could, adopt us”. I couldn’t adopt them because I already own three cats, so I figured petting them would be the least I could do. I reached my finger through one of the holes between the thin bars that separated me from the kittens, and gently stroked one of the two kittens in that cage behind the ears. It started to purr really loud and eventually started nipping me. I moved on to a different cage, and I eventually had pet every cat and kitten in every cage. I glanced over at the signs next to each cage. The signs were printed on regular office paper and showed the cats and kittens age, name, and a picture of each of the furry animals. It kind of made me think of my cats, and how they had been found on the road and caught by some people who had explained to us when we met them at a corner shop that they couldn’t have anymore cats because they already owned nine. I felt bad for the cats in the cages who may wait days to weeks to months to even years to find a good home. I quickly rushed to the sales clerk and asked if I was allowed to donate toys to the cats. She said that would be wonderful, so I asked my mom for two dollars, and rushed to the aisle with those toy mice, Rascals, I think they are called. I bought a six-pack and put one in every occupied cage. The cats looked very grateful, and started chasing the mice until they all managed to flip their little litter boxes. I laughed, and thanked the manager for helping these kittens and cats find good homes. I stroked the cats on the ears one more time, and said,”I’ll be back next week”. The store clerk told me, as I was checking out with my mom, that the life span of a toy in their cages tends to be about a week or two, so now, I force my mom to go there whenever We get the chance, so I can hang out with those kittens. You know, I was at youth group a few weeks ago, and the leader asked me when I saw God in my life. I told her about the color that came into those cats eyes, the way their pupils dilated when they saw me, the swift movements of a young kitten, and I know God is watching and somehow wanted me to love those kittens while they were in search of a new home. If you love cats, go to your local shelter, and just hang out with the cats if you can’t adopt them. It is truly rewarding.

Leave a Reply

